ICC Teleservices Ltd
Your Trusted ICT Partner

Linux Foundation Certified System Administrator (LFCS) Training from ICC Teleservices

Duration 40(Hrs)

Buy Now

Course Outline

Linux Fundamentals:

Module 1, “Essential Commands,” will cover the essentials of Linux, starting with the installation of the ubuntu and CentOS distributions. Then, it will go into the essential tools, file management tools, and working with text files.


Module 2, “User and Group Management and Permissions,” covers user and group management as well as storage management essentials. It goes into the details of the different required parts for setting up users and groups, the management of them, and some more advanced features. The basic read write and execute permissions, as well as how to apply them will be explained. And then the more in-depth permissions, SUID, SGID, sticky bit, and umask will be covered. Lastly, partitions and file systems and how to mount filesystems onto specific directories will be explored in Lesson 9.


Module 3, “Operating Running Systems,” covers the day-to-day Linux management tasks. It starts with an explanation of networking and managing system time. Then, services and processes, including the different utilities that are used, will be detailed. Software managers, how to manage software packages, task scheduling, and reading log files will also be covered.



In Module 1,”Advanced System Administration,” will provide an introduction in bash shell scripting, and an overview of some of the essential local system security settings. This module also includes how to configure networking, on both Red Hat and Ubuntu Linux. Advanced features of the systemd service manager, configuration of logging, basic kernel management, and the Linux boot procedure are also covered.


Module 2, “Managing Security Features,” is all about Linux security. It has two lessons, the first of which explains how to manage Linux firewalling. In the second, SELinux and Apparmor, two important features that allow you to set up an overall Linux security solution are covered.


Module 3, “Storage Management,” explains how to work with partitions, logical volumes, software RAID, and also how to put file systems on top of that. It discusses how to automate mounting file systems using fstab or systemd mounts, as well as how to automatically mount file systems. The last lesson in this module is about user quota, which allows you the limiting of disk space available to specific users.


Module 4, Managing SHH Services,” is about service configuration, and it provides a basic introduction to some of the most important services found on Linux. It has no less than eight lessons explaining how to set up basic configurations for SSH, Web, and FTP services. This covers setting up DNS and the NFS, and CIFS file sharing services. In the final three lessons there is an introduction to working with databases, e-mail handling, and web proxy configuration.


Module 5, “Managing Virtualization,” explains how to work with KVM Virtual machines, as well as Linux containers that are based on LXC or Docker. It also contains a sample exam, which verifies the skills required to pass the LFCS exam.